New Fan Switch Tackles 530 Air Conditioning Issue

June 29, 2010 at 8:10 am 9 comments

This weekend I tackled an irritating issue with my BMW 530i. I had a problem with the air conditioning, and the recent heat wave pushed this problem into the urgent quadrant. Summer time in DC, plus my wife complaining about it meant I could no longer use the time-tested technique of ignoring the problem.

The A/C would cut out when the car was stopped in traffic. The air flow didn’t change, that stayed constant. But there was no frosty air at all, the A/C factor disappeared until the car started moving again.  Pretty uncomfortable in commute traffic, to say the least. So I jumped into the forums for some research.

Turns out there is a switch that controls the auxiliary fan. The fan is supposed to come on when the car is stopped, to help cool the A/C condenser. If the condenser gets too hot, it shuts itself off. Based on my car’s symptoms, that sounded like what was happening. The entire fan could have been defective, but there was a chance just the switch was out.

So I ordered the switch for less than $20 online and installed the switch, which was very accessible in the engine bay. And for once, I got the BMW best-case scenario! It wasn’t the entire fan assembly, it was just the switch. I’ve now got cool air again at a dead stop, although I’ll probably also have the A/C system recharged before the end of the summer to get it back to 100% power.

Note to fellow DIYers — If you need to make this replacement, make sure the car is cool or you’ll lose some coolant when you remove the switch.

While I was at it I also addressed a musty A/C smell that was starting to occur, a common problem with BMWs due to moisture in the system. Thankfully, I don’t have as bad a problem as described here, or (hopefully) need as involved a remedy.  I sprayed a can of Liqui Moly Klima Fresh in the car, and it seems to have done the trick so far.

All in  all, another small victory in the post-warranty BMW ownership experience!

Faulty Switch

Replacement

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Entry filed under: Wheels. Tags: , , , , , .

The Cloud — How Well Do You Understand Tech’s Biggest Buzzword? Measuring Cloud Performance — New Bitcurrent/Webmetrics Report

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Uriel  |  September 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Hi, i have the same problem, can you tell me where exactly you found it? Thank you

    Reply
    • 2. cparente  |  September 14, 2010 at 9:38 am

      Hey, if you mean where did I get the replacement switch, AutohausAZ. Here’s the link to the part: http://bit.ly/bsxtkh

      Reply
  • 3. Uriel  |  September 15, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Thank you! yes that’s what i meant…

    Reply
  • 4. Classic Air Conditioning and Heating Dallas  |  October 22, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Hey, thanks for the info. Just in time. I have had the problem intermittently and was wondering where to get a fix.

    Reply
  • 5. Bmw Air Conditioner Problem | BMW Photos Blog  |  April 7, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    [...] bmw air conditioner problem cparente.wordpress.com [...]

    Reply
  • [...] my bmw air-conditioning does not work cparente.wordpress.com [...]

    Reply
  • 7. caconditioning  |  November 2, 2011 at 6:24 am

    I have been desperately looking for info about this and discovered your website via yahoo. It is undoubtedly one for my bookmarking! Keep up  the good work I will pop back again soon.

    Reply
  • 8. Mitchell Llora  |  July 8, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Thank you! I ordered the switch, installed it and it’s fixed!

    Reply
    • 9. cparente  |  July 8, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      Mitchell — thanks for the comment and glad the post helped you fix the problem!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archives

Traffic Sources

Alexa Rank

Twitter Stream

Become a Strategic Communications Fan

Add to Technorati Favorites


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

